

Louisiana Commission for the Deaf SFY 18 Regular Commission Meeting Meeting Minutes of February 23rd, 2018

- **I. Call to Order –** Meeting called to order at 9:10 am by Pauline Wood, Chairperson.
- **II. Invocation/Silent Prayer**
- III. Pledge of Allegiance
- IV. Roll Call Amy Zapata a quorum of Commissioners was present (13).

Commissioners Present:

Lisa Potter Dr. Donna Alleman Jimmy Gore Rana Ottallah Jay Isch Dr. Lee Mendoza Kevin Monk Darlene Austin Pauline Wood Melodie Sparks Chris Gorder Jeri Pilk

Candice LeBlanc (L) Rep. Patricia Smith (L)

Commissioners Not Present:

Sen. Yvonne Colomb Mark Martin Jamie Wong

LCD Staff:

Ariel Bumbala Amy Zapata Ashley Poche Robin Edwards

Interpreters:

Laura Sicignano Nicky Gillies Melissa Hines Brandon Vice

Captionist: Stephanie Vallet

- V. Approval of May 25th, 2018 Meeting Agenda L. Potter/M. Sparks
- VI. Approval of February 23rd, 2018 Meeting Minutes J. Gore/J. Isch
 - Amended Next commission meeting Feb. 23, 2018

VII. Business Requiring Commission Action

A. Old Business

- 1. Ethic Training Patricia Wilton
- 2. Reports from Work Group Chairs
 - a. Ashley Poche Telecommunications Work Group
 - Dan Wallace, State Fire Marshall's Office

Motion: Write a letter from the Commission in support of the State Fire Marshall's Smoke/Fire Alarms for the Deaf and Hard of Hearing – R. Ottallah

- b. Lee Mendoza Hearing Aid Program Work Group
- c. Katrina Interpreting Work Group
- d. Blaze Perry Support Service Provider Work Group
- 3. Mentoring Program Update
- 4. LCD Technical Guidance Manual edit/revisions

Louisiana Commission for the Deaf Meeting Minutes Friday, Feb. 23rd, 2017



B. New Business

1. Announce Secretary

Dr. Donna Alleman

2. LEAD – K Legislation Update

Motion: LCD Supports the LEAD – K Legislation – J. Isch/J. Gore - withdrawn Motion: LCD advocate or endorse the concept of LEAD – K – J. Isch/J. Gore

X. Business for Information Purpose/Reports

Note: Ran out of time, no report given

A. Officer' Reports

Chair, Pauline Wood -

Vice Chair, Jimmy Gore -

Secretary -

- B. Director's Report -
- C. Relay Administration Board Report, Pauline Wood -
- D. Legislators Reports, Rep. P. Smith/Sen. Y. Colomb -

E. Commissioners'	Reports –
-------------------	-----------

Jay Isch -

Rana Ottalah -

Jimmy Gore -

Jeri Pilk –

Lisa Potter –

Chris Gorder -

Darlene Austin -

Melodie Sparks -

Pauline Wood -

Dr. D. Alleman -

Candice LeBlanc -

Jamie Wong -

Mark Martin -

Dr. L. Mendoza -



K. Monk -

XI. Date, Time, and Place of Next Commission Meeting -

May 25th,2018, from 9 am – 12 pm, Bienville Building, room 118

XII. Adjournment – Meeting adjourned at 12:15 pm.

